Twitter Facebook

news - Le Figaro - La Solitaire: Marinepool Racing Team lead around Fastnet Rock

Aug 18 2010


Nail biting suspense and fast downwind sailing overnight

It was 01h01’33’’ exactly when Gildas Morvan (Cercle Vert) rounded the Fastnet lighthouse in the lead to hoist the spinnaker and start the route down to Lizen Ven and Cherbourg, followed by Marinepool Racing Team members Corentin Douguet (E.Leclerc Mobile) and Kito de Pavant (Groupe Bel).

All the skippers told, in the traditional midday radio chats, of the fun and excitement of sailing downwind full power, spinnaker up, at 15 plus knots in identical boats, watching your competitors just metres away.

>Despite not being localised in the latest position report at 16:00, Armel Le Cleac’h is assumed to still in the leading four, showing an exceptional control of the race. According to the latest position report the fleet is led by Corentin Douguet (E.Leclerc Mobile) at 231 miles from the finish while Eric Péron (Skipper Macif 2009) and François Gabart (Skipper Macif 2010), 2nd in the overall ranking and 2nd at 16 hours respectively) are hot on his heels: just 0.2 miles, that is to say… 370 metres! And where is the provisional bronze medal Thomas Rouxel (Crédit Mutuel de Bretagne)? Only 2.5 miles behind…

As forecast, the wind eased to a more manageable 15 knots over the course of the afternoon. The fleet is now looking for the right place to gibe, that will probably be between 8 p.m. and midnight, to set the course to Lizen Ven mark, just off the île Vierge, in order to reach the next mark where they are expected between midnight and 08:00. From this point it twill be clearer who made the best option for the final 140 miles to Cherbourg -Octeville, where the Race Management staff arrived today and promptly had to get their umbrellas out, preparing to welcome the leaders, expected to finish Wednesday late afternoon.


Top ten, leg four, at 14:45:00 French time Tuesday 17 August:

1. Corentin Douguet, E. Leclerc Mobile

2. Eric Peron, Skipper MACIF 2009

3. Francois Gabart, Skipper MACIF 2010

5. Francisco Lobato, ROFF/Temp-Team

6. Gildas Morvan, Cercle Vert

7. Pietro D'Ali, I.Nova.3

8. Fabien Delahaye, Port de Caen Ouistreham

9. Jeremie Beyou, BPI

10. Kito De Pavan, Groupe Bel

Le Figaro - La Solitaire 2010 Website

Corentin Douguet

Corentin Douguet (E.Leclerc Mobile)

Kito de Pavant ?© Jaques Vapillon